Eastside Chapter Agenda

November 19, 2008


MEC 2009 AzTEA Luncheon Gala Committee:
Amy Chayefsky
Tammy Hernandez
Jane Nesdill
Jann Wolfgramm
Ruth Catalano - Centerpieces
Google Site: http://sites.google.com/site/mecgala2009/?pli=1

Notes from Meeting - 2008-2009 Focus
Overview: Instead of conducting a multitude of events for teachers, we are building upon last year's EdTech Collaboration.
Target Audience: Ed Tech Staff, Administrative Staff
Goal Target: IT Directors, CTO's
Purpose: Engage the infrastructure and network stakeholders in an education first based discussion
List: Amy & Julia hope to approach Hank Stabler to engage the CTO/CIO Sig group
Date: May 2008
All day, including lunch
Location: TBD

Visit and discussion with Coy

Other Opportunities-
Virtual Field Trips
Wednesday, November 19, 2008
1 pm Pacific / 2 pm Mountain / 3 pm Central / 4 pm Eastern
Tomorrow is a wonderful webinar that will take place at 2:00pm at Madison School District. Come join me and Alice Christi for this Virtual Field trip webinar. Sorry this is late...I just got really busy!!! :)P
(Priscilla Lundberg)

Encourage your IT Directors and other administrators to attend this workshop:

Leadership and Technology: Building Powerful Learning Communities

Dates: January 20-21, 2009
Location: Desert Willow Conference Center
4340 East Cotton Center Boulevard, Phoenix
Times: 8:00am - 3:30pm
Cost: $175
Deadline: 1/6/2009

How can school leadership maximize student engagement and academic achievement? How can leaders encourage teachers and students to collaborate with peers and professionals around the world? In this presentation and workgroup session, Dr. Tim Tyson, former principal of Mabry Middle School, who has been called "The Pied Piper of Educational Technology" by the School Library Journal, will share lessons learned and philosophical frameworks gleaned from that school's exploration of best practices and ways to leverage technology through school-wide blogging and school-wide student/teacher/administrator digital media creation in their efforts to make learning irresistible.

Participants will have the opportunity to learn with one another in small breakouts that will focus on 21st Century tools such as Google Docs and Wikis, Blogs, and Web 2.0.

While this conference is geared to school principals and district administrators, teacher leaders are welcome to join us!
http://www.azk12.org/azk12.php?section=6158